Kinship Welcome Letter/Meeting Dates/ SLT Meeting Dates

Benjamin Banneker Academy for Community Development

77 Clinton Avenue

Brooklyn, New York 11205  Phone (718) 797-3702

Dr. Kinsley Kwateng, Principal

Mr. John LaCroix, Assistant Principal   Ms. C’cora Thomas, Assistant Principal

Mr. Clive Pryce, Assistant Principal              Mr. David Blakes, Assistant Principal, I.A.

September 17, 2021

Greetings Banneker Family,

 Welcome back to our Benjamin Banneker Academy for Community Development (BBACD) campus after a very challenging year.  To all our new and returning families, welcome to a dynamic year!  

 Our BBACD Kinship (PTA) is dedicated to fostering positive, strong bonds between our scholars, parents, teachers, staff and administration.  Very special thanks to you for your commitment to working together.  Hats off to our Principal, Dr. Kinsley Kwateng, our Assistant Principals, especially to our teachers, staff, administration and prior Kinship leadership and teams, for going above and beyond to support our scholars.  We appreciate you.

To our scholars, we are all here to support you.  Please do not hesitate to share how we may best align with you in your education.  We are very proud of you staying the course and working hard even when it gets tough.  We celebrate you and remind you that each day is a new opportunity to work toward your very bright future.

Our Kinship Executive Board would like to share our theme for the academic year. 

Recalibrate, Refocus, Refresh!  

Scholars, as we begin a new school year, let’s recalibrate our measures of success.  Make it a priority now and throughout the year, to continually refocus on your academic and personal goals, ensuring your activities are taking you toward them. Finally, we encourage our scholars, parents, teachers, staff and administrators to take the opportunity to frequently refresh mentally. Our world is constantly changing and it is so essential that our Banneker community is here to support each other.

In addition to our monthly meetings, we have planned some great events for the school year including parent workshops, quarterly Kinship engagements and other activities. You are welcome to review our monthly Kinship (PTA) meeting schedule for the year, also shared via email.  We encourage you to join us for these meetings and activities, and to volunteer whenever you are able to.

Stay in touch with us!  We value your input and welcome your suggestions.  You may reach us via email at BBACDKINSHIP@BANNEKER.NYC   Also follow us on Instagram at benjaminbannekeracademynyc, to stay abreast of our school community activities.

We are humbled and honored to have the opportunity to serve you. Wishing you and your family an amazing school year!

Sincerely,

BBACD Kinship (PTA) Executive Board

School Leadership Team (SLT)

2020-2021 Meeting Dates (@5:30pm)

  • Monday, September 27, 2021
  • Monday, October 18, 2021 *5:00pm
  • Monday, November 8, 2021
  • Monday, December 13, 2021
  • Monday, January 10, 2022
  • Monday, February 14,  2022
  • Monday, March 14, 2022
  • Monday, April 11, 2022
  • Monday, May 9, 2022
  • Monday, June 13, 2022

Kinship Meeting Dates

  • Saturday, September 25, 2021
  • Tuesday, October 26, 2021
  • Saturday, November 20, 2021
  • Tuesday, December 14, 2021
  • Saturday, January 22, 2022
  • Tuesday, February 15, 2022
  • Saturday, March 26, 2022
  • Tuesday, April 26th, 2022
  • Saturday, May 21, 2022
  • Tuesday, June 21, 2022